More than 50 million Americans have an allergy of some kind. At FRÍO Gelato, we believe our product should be for everyone, so we make the best quality allergy-friendly products we can.  While any food can cause an adverse reaction, there are 8 top food types identified by the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act (FALCPA) that account for about 90% of all reactions and are the ingredients most frequently asked about by our customers.  FRÍO Gelato purchases gluten-free and nut-free products and does not include any non-FALCPA regulated allergens such as sesame and mustard.  We also employe procedures in the kitchen and retail stores to limit cross-contamination, but, we are not certified as an allergen-free company.  

OUR ALLERGY-FRIENDLY KITCHEN

COW'S MILK


All our GELATOS are dairy-based and contain cow’s milk and cream and should be avoided in cases of dairy allergies. Our SORBETS are water-based and can be consumed by those with dairy-allergies and lactose intolerance.




EGGS


While many frozen dessert manufactures use eggs in their recipes, only two FRÍO Gelato flavors contain eggs: sambayón (egg custard and marsala wine) and any chocolate-based gelatos (our chocolate sorbet does not contain eggs!). All other gelato flavors are egg-free and none of the sorbets contain egg.




PEANUTS


None of our gelato and sorbet flavors contain peanuts nor peanut-derived products. In addition, there are no peanuts or peanut-derived products in our production kitchen or retail stores. A peanut is a legume (belonging to the same family as soybeans, peas and lentils), not a tree nut, therefore please refer below to the tree nut section for further information.




TREE NUTS


Tree nuts such as almonds, Brazil nuts, cashews, chestnuts, filberts, hazelnuts, macadamia nuts, pecans, pistachios, pine nuts, shea nuts and walnuts are not used anywhere in our products, production kitchen or retail stores. While the FDA recognizes coconut as a tree nut and some allergic reactions to coconut have been documented, the American College of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology (ACAAI) affirms that most people who are allergic to tree nuts can still safely eat coconut. In cases of allergy to coconut, please avoid our coconut gelato, piña colada gelato flavors and shredded coconut topping and also be advised that our housemade chocolate dip contains coconut oil.




SHELLFISH


None of our gelato and sorbet flavors contain shellfish or shellfish protein. We do not use shellfish (Crustaceans - crabs, lobster, crayfish, shrimp; and Mollusks - squid, snails, clams, oysters and scallops), nor shellfish protein sometimes found in food additives, in our ingredients, production kitchen or retail stores.




WHEAT AND GLUTEN SENSITIVITY


Our gelatos and sorbets are made with gluten-free ingredients. If a wheat allergy, celiac disease or gluten-sensitivity exists, our housemade waffle bowls and cucurucho cones and selected toppings should be avoided. Those with celiac or gluten issues can simply order our gelato/sorbet in a cup with no toppings.




SOY


None of our gelato and sorbet flavors contain soy or soy protein.




FISH


None of our gelato and sorbet flavors contain fish or fish oil (Omega 3).





AT FRÍO GELATO

OUR KITCHEN AND RETAIL STORE PROCEDURES 

ARE AS FOLLOWS:

PRODUCTION KITCHEN

The machines are sanitized before and after each run-through with bleach and other special "milkstone remover" by Stera Sheen, which is required by the State of IL health code to get rid of any dairy or egg residue.  While this procedure is for bacterial issues, it also serves the purposes for cleaning allergens.  Additionally, milk-based gelato is made separately from the water-based sorbet - not in the same run-through and no waffle bowls or cones are made at the production kitchen.

 

RETAIL STORES

Employees are trained and required to use hand sanitizer before serving any gelato/sorbet with every new customer, and after handling money!  Each gelato / sorbet tray has its own serving spatula so there is minimal cross-contamination there. Dairy-based gelato is kept in a separate freezer from dairy-free sorbet. In addition, we comply with the State of IL Health Department sanitation requirements.
 

argentine
artisanal
allergy friendly